David and I have entered the role of being a parent. No, no baby yet, but we have thus far began taking on several of the parental responsibileries. One of those responsibileries I am in the middle of is finding a pediatrician for our son. Everyone says that you are supposed to have one by the time the baby is born so that he can check him out and be there for any problems and such…. I’m sure if you don’t have one when the little one comes, there is one somewhere in the hospital that could have a look at him…. but anyways, I am finding that I am a little apathetic to the whole idea. I know!, it’s very important to have a good pediatrician, but I think my motivation is lacking simply because this is one of those “taken for granted” things that you leave behind when you move across the country. If we were in Riverside, I know exactly who my son’s pediatrician would be, I would know who our family doctor would be, and our dentist, and my hair salon among other things…. But all of these things are in the “taken for granted” category that I have been discovering more and more, like a layered onion, since we have been here. They are comforts that I miss. If I could sum up the emotions revolving around moving into one word, it would be uncomfortable…

So, if you are one of those people who tries not to take all of the great gifts we received from God for granted, consider the simple things,…. like who your pediatrician was….

